Great Illusions – Shape Of Water

iTunes Google Play Amazon Mp3
Spotify Apple Music Deezer Music Unlimited Tidal Pandora iHeartRadio
  • Artist:   Shape of Water
    Release Date:   June 12, 2020
    Format:   Album (Full Length)
    Total Length (MM:SS):   46:51
    Explicit:   No
    Catalog No:   ECLP 93502
    Label:   Eclipse Records
    UPC:   638647935029

    ©2020 Eclipse Records
  • Producer(s):   Paul Reeve

    No additional info exists

Great Illusions by Shape Of Water

Great Illusions is the debut album from Shape Of Water which contains a broad scope of genres best described as alternative rock mixed-up with metal & synthwave overtones. This is something different… a dreamscape of emotions brought to life by the band’s surreal, unique songwriting style. Great Illusions was produced by Paul Reeve (Muse, Beta Band, Supergrass) at Airfield Studios. The band also brought on Sky Van Hoff (Rammstein, Kreator, Caliban) to mix the songs “Scar” and “Not All the Things”. Highlights on the album include “The World Is Calling Me” which talks about war and the global supremacy of global superpowers; “Not All the Things”, a song that tackles the tough topic of unwanted fatherhood resulting in emotional detachment and a growing sense of guilt; and “Scar” an analogy to the scars left between ex-lovers after breaking up.

Stream or Download “Great Illusions” by Shape Of Water at

Press Quotes & Highlights

  • (9.5/10) “a must for anyone who likes smart songwriting, tasteful synths and atmosphere”Rock Garage Magazine
  • (4/5) “a strong idea of the sound they want, and skilled enough to realize it!”Three Songs and Out
  • (8.5/10) “absolutely recommended for music lovers who think out of the box!”Rock Castle Franken
  • (8.4/10) “a deeply conceptual look at mankind to thrive in this accessible and intriguing work of art”Sonic Perspectives
  • (8/10) “Catchy and theatrical”GBHBL
  • (3/5) “perfect festival music… lighters up!”Ramzine
  • “a very interesting album, I listened with great pleasure”
  • “a pretty diverse mix of genres, making each track a refreshing listen”Original Rock
  • “this isn’t really metal, but man it sure has gotten its hooks in me”No Clean Singing
  • “a great album for relaxed, contemplative summer evenings”Hellfire Magazine