Darkness – The OddEven

  • Artist:   The OddEven
    Release Date:   January 5, 2024
    Format:   Album (Full Length)
    Total Length (MM:SS):   30:07
    Explicit:   Yes
    Catalog No:   ECLP 96902
    Label:   Eclipse Records
    UPC:   638647969024

    ©2024 Eclipse Records
  • Producer(s):   Frank Marchand, Weed, E.T.

    No additional info exists

Darkness by The OddEven

Darkness is the new hard-rocking alternative metal album by The OddEven, and we had all better strap in and get ready to fly hard and fast. The record is not just a collection of rock tunes, but more a journey to nightmares, dreamscapes, thrill rides, and butcher knives. The hypnotic vocals are strange and addictive, as the guitar work is eerie, fulfilling, uplifting, and bold. That said, it is finally the monstrous bass-oriented groove that defines this record, ignited by a hurricane of exceptional drumming and explosive hooks that bring us deep into the blast radius. The album was produced by Weed and E.T., alongside Frank Marchand (Fiona Apple, Nils Lofgren) at Waterford Digital, and mastered by Alan Douches (Mastodon, Monster Magnet, Fleetwood Mac) at West West Side Music. The album art was designed by Lola Quinn.

The first single Whiskey is a dark party with a groove in a booze barrel. Hypnotic vocals share the spotlight with weeping willow guitars and a rhythm section aimed straight for the heart and the hips. Another Nail is the second single and it tells us to “Go! Go! Go!” as one headphone swashbuckles the other with our minds in the middle like brain salad. The third focus track is entitled “Wild West” which is about disguises and darkness, mesmerizing us with a melodic slow-burn about to explode. With seven more songs on the album its easy to see there’s no frills here…

Darkness is an invitation, precious and personal like a treasured pattern of body ink, and their suggestion is that we become a part of the experience by letting the music spark our wildest imaginations. They set us free to become exotic savages on distant planets, heroes in a hot-rods playing chicken with the stars, and psychedelic villains chasing shadows to the underworld. They make us want to stand on our chairs with our fists in the air, then go home from the show hoarse and happy. They want us all to keep hold of the groove. They want to make all of us Rock Gods.

‘Darkness’ by The OddEven was released on January 5, 2024.

Press Quotes & Highlights

  • (5/5) “If you are in the mood for heavy without all the metal (I know, that may be blasphemous), The Oddeven is just what the doctor ordered. This is a great listen from start to finish.”Metal Rules
  • (10/10) “They make us want to stand on our chairs with our fists in the air, then go home from the show hoarse and happy. ” – Novacaine UK
  • (8/10) “Call it post-grunge, modern alt-metal, stoner rock or whatever tag you choose, the bottom line is, this band can jam! Their method is not mere rabble rousing, but gut-wrenching and emotionally invested songs. “Music Connection
  • (8/10) “THE ODDEVEN comes in a very good time with ‘Darkness’, so enjoy the ride!”Metal Temple
  • “Darkness is a masterclass in Southern meets North-West Americana hard rock”Heavy Mag
  • (4/5) “A compelling, mind-expanding album to check out”Cryptic Rock
  • “Darkness is a euphoric frenzy of stardust and melodies that harmoniously showcase The OddEven’s innate ability and magic to make colossal mesmerising and electrifying grooves time and time again.”Amplify the Noise
  • More coming soon…