Sydney Fate

  Facebook   Instagram   TikTok   YouTube   X/Twitter  
Adam Rapado (vocals), Bailey Edwards (vocals), Owen Whittaker (guitar), Dominic Evans (guitar), Thomas Atkinson-Turner (bass), Terry Collins (drums), Leuan Llewellyn (synths)

Sydney Fate are an alternative metal band from Cardiff, South Wales in the United Kingdom. Tragedy, life-changing experience, and broken hearts… they’ve been the catalyst of inspiration for many great songs over the years and in the case of Sydney Fate, this is no exception. Founded by vocalist Bailey Edwards while in high school, the band had humble beginnings in their early years writing songs and playing at local pubs. Eventually, after recruiting guitarist Dominic Evans on guitar and some others, a solid lineup was realized and in 2017 the band recorded their first two demos, entitled Home and Sweet Anticipation. In early 2018 however, when Bailey went through a difficult breakup with his girlfriend at the time, the band went on a brief hiatus as he buckled down and dealt with it through the only way any respectable musician would… he isolated himself from the public eye and began to write some new songs.

After two months of isolation, Bailey emerged from his cocoon transformed and with five new songs for the band. After some lineup changes and the addition of two more members, the band resurfaced as a six-piece with original members Bailey and Dominic and the addition of Owen Wittaker, Adam Rapado, Thomas Atkinson-Turner, and Terry Collins. A resurrected Sydney Fate was back in action and locked in studio time at InnerSound Audio in York, with producers Joe Graves and Sam Graves. The result was their debut EP, Sound Alive. Released independently in late 2018, Sound Alive is the result of reflection on oneself after resurfacing from life’s obstacles. The EP was written with the mentality that everyone has their own personal struggles, and on the days you feel like a part of you has died – you need a reason to Sound Alive!

As the band entered 2019, things started happening fast… live performances at Welshfest and Sin City in Swansea led to a UK tour with Portraits. As the band continued to support the release of their EP by gigging into 2019 with the likes of Borders, WARS, Palmist, and Sean Smith (ex-Blackout) the buzz about the band on the streets was growing. It wasn’t long before the band caught the attention of US-based Eclipse Records and signed a deal for the release of a full-length album. By that time, the band headed back to InnerSound Audio and with the help of The Graves Brothers (Asking Alexandria, Eyes Set to Kill, In Visions), recorded enough additional songs to complete their debut LP, Silicon Nitride.

The band are currently supporting their debut album, Silicon Nitride which was released on April 3, 2020 via Eclipse Records. Highlights on the album include “Sound Alive”, a positive song about overcoming obstacles in life, “Oceans” which tackles how your surroundings have a big impact on the way you see the world, and “TACENDA” which is about the inner conflicts of the mind. Altogether, the album contains 8 emotionally charged melodic anthems, which are sure to make a lasting impression upon the listener. Check this out, we think you will agree!